Another Mother must bury her Son

 

Image

Today I am carrying someone else’s burden. Earlier this week my mom called to let me know that a former classmate and nephew of some dear friends of ours was dying in a hospital in Miami. Hearing the news really broke my heart, and I found myself unable to really focus on anything but praying for him and his family. I prayed fervently all day..that he would know he was loved by the God of the universe, and that angels would be sent to comfort him and his family. I prayed for healing. I prayed that his parents would not have to bury their son. I prayed as a mom who has lost a child. I’ve mentioned in other posts that my relationship with God has changed since Ella’s death tremendously. I no longer ask for selfish things that I want. I don’t ask God for protection, or blessings, or good health…I only ask Him the things that I truly believe in faith He will answer. I believe that God wants to hold Alex more than anything…that He wants to heal him from the inside out. I prayed for Alex to accept that love, regardless of his life or death. I know from experience that God doesn’t answer every prayer the way we want Him to or the way we expect–so I’ve changed the way I pray. I pray knowing that God is able, but for whatever reason He is not always willing. 

I believe that God did answer my prayer to cover Alex with love and warmth and light…even though he has died. His death has shook me again. In three weeks or less I will give birth to a baby boy–God willing, and Alex’s death has made me realize all over again that I do not have control. Alex was someone’s son, someones nephew, someones brother…he was carried with love in the womb, just as I am carrying my son. I can’t help but think about my son when I think about Alex. It breaks my heart knowing that I am powerless to save my son from disease, cancer, heartbreak, and even death itself. Finally, I am at the place where I can at least admit that Ella’s death spared her from knowing pain–and this does give me a little comfort sometimes. But today I am carrying his mothers burden –she had to watch her 26 year old baby die. I can’t imagine going through 26 years of things, of clothes he wore just last week, of sheets, and pictures, and memories. I hate that I cannot take away his mothers pain. I can only bear it, and all I can pray today is “Lord carry them.”

 

The picture above is of my sister Brooke at Ella’s first Birthday. We released lanterns and it was very special and symbolic of letting go all over again. I want to share a beautiful poem that she wrote about Ella, and her questions and grief…

 

Are you here with me?
Can you hear my voice….
There is so much noise
Am I one among many, or can you recognize me?
I see a blade of grass, it grew apart from the field

it is shaking in the constant might of the wind

But it has no bend in it, Can you see me standing here?
Surrounded by outstretched limbs and reaching branches, almost as fists shaking in the sky

Angry so angry
Do my words reach you? My whispers in my head, do they matter?

I’m afraid they are meaningless words that float through empty space, and then sink to the soles of my feet
If I had an anchor I would trade my sails in for it any day
Will this wind ever die down? If only my troubled heart could reach you, and rest

Just rest in whatever dose of healing you would lavish on it
All the happy words and easy phrases, shallow unbelieved praises, spoken from uncompassionate faces

Apathetic to any tragic life changes, eager to judge my response to MY personal anguish
There is this ache that burns like an ember resting on your skin

Tearing through layer by layer, melting flesh to reach your bone

And as it restfully burrows in your whole body ignites within as a raging flame, spreading head to toe, heart to head to mouth

What I speak comes as black smoke left from ashes smoldering in a pit
Never will my eyes see a beautiful thing and truly recognize it, or an ugly imperfection without surprise or expectation
You give and take away, but for some reason it feels as though you have stolen from me

From us
I imagine If I extend my hands I could release this frailty of belief and trust and that it would shoot from my hands into your being

And I would know that you know how little I have to hang on to and you would send out your life rafts to rescue this drowning soul

4 thoughts on “Another Mother must bury her Son

  1. Thank you both for your honest vulnerability. Yes, He does send His life raft to rescue our drowning souls. Very beautifully shared girls. So proud of you for delving deep into yours, mine, and the sorrows of others.

  2. thank you for choosing to share this with everyone. I still remember how it was after my mom (and everyone else) was after we buried my sister. Time gives us a different way of looking at things; a different perspective if you will, but we haven’t quite mastered how to let certain things go….maybe we never fully will. For that I would never wish on anybody, but those events in life we can’t control. Much love and prayers for everyone that is involved in this journey, may you find comfort in memories and in your family members. don’t shut out God completely, I made that mistake…don’t worry if you are mad at him. He still loves you no matter how you feel or what you say to him! love to you both xox

  3. You have touched me in a way so deeply. I burried a secret with a son and have carried guilt and sorrow. I have birthed a healthy boy who is beautiful and smart and loved him completely while I struggle with the secrets of a boy who’s come and gone much sooner than his time. The will of God is something that I used to respect and now question. It isn’t it’s existance but rather it’s power. I say goodbye everyday but it never feels quite comfortable. I look into young eyes with wonder and excitement returning glances and I know this life is unfair. I would have spared him if not fpr that lonely, isolating weight of greif and guilt. God willing, I did not. Thank you. And may peace find find its way into the hearts of all who knew and loved Alex.

    • Oh Melissa, thank you so much for sharing your precious son and pain with me. I am so saddened to hear you can relate…At least know you are not alone..We will walk this road together the best way we can. Sending you so much love.

Leave a Reply

