A Poem From Daddy

© Dan Stewart Photography

Finally, I’ve been waiting for my life to come true

Elevate commiserating, arrive right back at you

Your light fell to the bottom, then rose back up again

A birthday never coming, how do I manage then?

The dreams I had

Are now just sad

Gone before you came

We’ll never be the same

The sun’s not quite as bright

Yet I hold your mother tight

Stones have broke windows to see you through

Elevate commiserating, arrive right back at you

Your voice a sound I never heard

A promise I cannot keep

October 8 days past the third

Sleep my darling, sleep

The man you see before you lay all the while still

Waiting for a homecoming that God can only fill

Everything keeps going, except for you and me

Too fast I fear, you’re not here, oh the revelry

3 thoughts on “A Poem From Daddy

Leave a Reply

