Lost at Sea

Run myself a bath
Try to dissolve my troubles in the water
Truth is, haven’t opened the good book
Since I buried my daughter
Think time and time again
Wish I was still a mother, wish he was still a father
In the strictest sense of the word, it still rings true
But the truth of my reality paints all my past, present and future dark blue
Wish you were five years old, wearing pink as we sing happy birthday to you
You are not a ghost, not an angel, not a dream
You were a net that was cast, and lost out at sea
You are not a memory, or a lesson, or a misfortune, or a tragedy
You were more than blood and bones and flesh to me
You are a soul, you are a song
You are a groan in my chest, that will ache my whole life long

Leave a Reply

